OGBCA Minutes - - 3/24/2023

General meeting was called to order by Jerry Burnett.

Minutes were read by Christie Jennings and approved by Katie Bass & Wendi Wells.

Brian Lester from the OSSAA welcomed the group and once again spoke about their willingness to work with our membership to make Oklahoma high school basketball the best it can be. He also talked about the upcoming advisory board meeting. He felt like coaches need to have a voice in decision making for our sport.

Hall of Fame members were voted on by the members. Five coaches were chosen to be Hall of Famers - Jana Armer, Scott Reed, Jeff Zinn, Mike Fitts and Andrea Guizec.

The Charles K. Heatly award was voted on by the group. Winners were Mike Butin from the East and Jamie Davis from the West.

The Bertha Frank Teague award winners were Riley Little John & Rachel Crabaugh.

The general meeting also selected Assistant Coaches of the Year. From the East, Randy Ellis and from the West Kaylee Byrd.

The junior coaches of the year were voted on. Winners were from the East Wes Whitely from Fort Gibson. From the West, David Sikes form Ampo.

All State Coaches were selected.

Small East David Cash & Kolby Johnson
Small West Patrick Penner & James Kelley
Middle East Tara Satterfield & Matt Sweeney
Middle West Johnny Vick & Jamie Combs
Large East Shane Coffey & Bobby Belveal
Large West Eric Carr & Brent Hodges

The floor was opened for discussion. Jennifer Douglas talked about the state tourney going back to the old format of Thursday - Saturday. She was concerned about attendance on Tuesday and Wednesday games. The advisory members agreed to bring it up at the advisory meeting.

Meeting was adjourned by Jerry Burnett with motions by Jamie Combs & Kaylee Byrd.

BOARD MEETING MINUTES - - 3/24/2023

Meeting was called to order by Jerry Burnett. Minutes and All State Report were read by Christie Jennings. They were approved by Jenni Holbrook & seconded by Taylor Young.

Prayer was led by Gary Kennemer.

Coaches of the year were voted on by the Board Members. Coaches of the year from the East was Eric Smith from Dale and from the West was Brady Hamar from Seiling.

Floor was open for any new discussion. There was no new discussion.

Meeting was adjourned by Jerry Burnett. Motion was approved by Jeff Richey and seconded by Bobby Wheat.