OGBCA MINUTES - 3/29/24

General meeting was called to order by Christie Jennings. Minutes were read and approved by Kaylee Byrd and approved by Shane Coffey and Gary Kennemer. The All State report was read by Kaylee Byrd. Hall of Fame members were voted on by the members. Five coaches were chosen to be Hall of Famers - Chester Pittman, Scot Friesen, Kris Gore, Karri Sears, and Arneila (Shaw) Spears. The Charles K. Heatly award was voted on by the group. Winners were Jon Hadley from the East and Nichole Copeland from the West. The Bertha Frank Teague award winners were Megan Carter from the East and Megan Robbins from the West. The general meeting also selected the Assistant Coaches of the Year. From the East, Kevin Slabaugh and from the West, Kaylee Byrd. The Junior High Coaches of the Year were voted on. Winners were Scott Wilson from the East and Lexi Allen from the West. All-State Coaches were selected. Small East- Bobby Shinn & Jon Hadley - Small West- Bo Thomason & Jaicee Powers. Middle East- Brad Crace & John Coons - Middle West- Brian Kader & Carson Mathews. Large East- Will Robinson & Kendall Woodward, Large West- Roy Wyckoff & Hope Heinen. The floor was opened for discussion. Jamie Combs spoke about re-classifying the east & west districts to create more balance & better representation. She suggested forming a committee. Jamie made a motion to create a committee, Scott Lowe second. Katie Bass spoke about the limitation of coaching the all-state game two times. Jennifer Douglas added that the 5/6A coaches already have a smaller group of coaches to pick from. Kyle Richey mentioned that the criteria to have been a head coach for 5 yrs also made finding coaches difficult. Jade Allison made a motion to propose the new criteria in the board meeting. Meeting was adjourned by Christie Jennings with motions by Tara Satterfield and Kyle Richey.

BOARD MEETING MINUTES - 3/29/24

Meeting was called to order by Christie Jennings. Minutes were read by Kaylee Byrd. They were approved by Tara Satterfield and Taylor Young. Prayer was led by Gary Kennemer. Coaches of the year were voted on by the board members. Coaches of the year from the East was Jon Hurt from Vanoss and from the West was Jeff Daughtery from Merritt. The floor was open for any new discussion. Christie Jennings spoke about the importance of ensuring the celebration page fee being covered by a sponsor, the school, or booster club so that we can continue to pay for the all-state games. She then reminded the board members that we will be electing a new president for a one year term in June and nominations are due by April 19th. Jade Allison proposed new criteria to be used for selection of all-state coaches:

The new criteria was voted on and passed by the board members. Jennifer Douglas made a motion to adjourn. Motion was approved by Kyle Richey and seconded by Eldon Gentry.